Code for swarming behavior?

Hi all,

I’m an artist working with robots as a medium, and I’m interested in using Ringo bots for a swarming project. Has anyone used the robots for swarming? If so, can you share your insights on how you achieved swarming functionality? If not, can you recommend a starting point for me?

Here are some ideas that I had:

1. I was wondering about the idea of using the ambient light sensors to detect other bots in the vicinity (who are themselves emitting light from the NeoPixels) but I’m not sure if that will work, as I think the ambient light sensors pick up on IR, not the visible spectrum.

2. I was also wondering about using the sensor (I’m not sure which one it is) that detects an object in front of it (which allows the bot to stop before hitting something). If these sensors can sense 360-degrees around the bot, and not just in front, then this might work. But if it’s using IR then I imagine one would run into signal jamming problems with multiple robots sending out signals simultaneously.

3. Lastly I was wondering about the ‘Bot to Bot wireless communication for swarming’ which is listed on the website here: https://www.plumgeek.com/ringo.html .However, I’m not sure what component is being used for the wireless communication, and I’m concerned about signal jamming issues there as well.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Tori

1 Like

I have also looked into swarming robots. I saw some YouTube videos where robots were swarming in a small area, but the more I researched the more I realized that the technology they were using was VERY expensive. So, how do you do it cheaper?